[map] Wyoming

Wyoming

Summary: After notice the sheriff shall advertise the property for sale, and sell the property at public auction, without appraisal, to the highest bidder for cash (Sec. 39-13-108). The highest bidder, shall only pay to the sheriff the amount by which his bid exceeds the amount due him under the court’s decree. Upon confirmation of the sale by the court, the sheriff shall execute a deed conveying title to the real property to the purchaser in fee simple subject only to the rights of lien holders from junior tax sales. Any person having an interest in the real property may redeem the property prior to confirmation by the court by paying into court a sum of money sufficient to pay all sums owing to the lien holder.

Law: Wyoming Statutes, Title 39, Chapter 13, “Ad Valorem Taxation.”

Contact: The Sheriff. (Sec. 39-13-108).

Interest Rate: 15% per annum plus 3% penalty. (Sec. 39-13-109). More specifically, three percent penalty (3%); plus commencing at date of 1982 tax sale, interest on subsequent taxes if paid by the holder of the certificate of purchase shall be fifteen percent (15%) per annum (Sec. 39-13-109).

Auction Type: Tax Lien Certificate (Sec. 39-13-108).

Bidding Procedure: Premium bid / highest bid. (Sec. 39-13-108).The highest bidder, shall only pay to the sheriff the amount by which his bid exceeds the amount due him under the court’s decree i.e. taxes, costs and penalties accrued plus interest, accruing penalties (Sec. 39-13-108). If the property cannot be sold for that amount, the property is bid in for the county.

Costs: The following fees, costs and charges shall be collected by the county treasurer to be credited to the county treasury: (A) Twenty-three cents ($.23) per mile for necessary travel and not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) for advertising in the case of sale of personal property and not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) for advertising in the case of sale of real property to collect delinquent taxes;(B) Not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) for issuing a certificate of purchase; (C) Twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for issuing a treasurer’s deed to a private purchaser;(D) Not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) for issuing a certificate of redemption (Sec. 39-13-108).

Redemption Period: Four (4) years. (Sec. 39-13-108). The legal owner of property sold at a tax sale may redeem the property at any time before an application for a tax deed is filed (Sec. 39-13-109). Following four (4) years from the date of sale the purchaser may apply for a deed; however, the application cannot be filed more than six years after the sale (Sec. 39-13-108).

Deed Assigned at Foreclosure to: To the holder of the Tax Lien Certificate (Sec. 39-13-108).

Wyoming Contacts
number of Counties: 23

Albany County
Grand Avenue
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Laramie, WY 82070
Phone: (307) 721-2541
www.co.albany.wy.us

Campbell County
500 South Gillette Avenue
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Gillette, WY 82716-4239
Phone: (307) 682-7283
http://ccg.co.campbell.wy.us

Fremont County
450 North Second - Room 220
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Lander, WY 82520-2360
Phone: (307) 332-2405
www.fremontcounty.org

Laramie County
310 West 19th Street, Suite 300
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Cheyenne, WY 82001-4452
Phone: (307) 633-4260
http://webgate.co.laramie.wy.us

Natrona County
P.O. Box 863
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Casper, WY 82602-0863
Phone: (307) 235-9202
www.natrona.net/