[map] Nebraska

Nebraska

Summary: The county treasurer shall, not less than four nor more than six weeks prior to the first Monday of March in each year, make out a list of all real property subject to sale and the amount of all delinquent taxes (Sec. 77-1802). The person purchasing any real property shall pay to the treasurer the amount of taxes, interest, and cost thereon, which payment may be made in the same funds receivable by law in the payment of taxes. (Sec. 77-1808). When a minimum bid is not given, the county treasurer shall issue certificates of purchase of the real estate so sold in the name of the county (Sec. 77-1809). If any real property remains unsold for want of bidders, the county treasurer is authorized and required to sell the same at private sale at his or her office to any person who will pay the amount of taxes, penalty, and costs thereof and to make out duplicate certificates of sale and deliver one to the purchaser and the other to the county clerk (Sec. 77-1814).

Law: Nebraska Revised Statutes, Chapter 77, Article 18, “Collection of Delinquent Real Estate Taxes by Sale of
Real Estate,” and Article 19 “Collection of Delinquent Real Estate Taxes Through Court Proceedings.”
Contact: The County Treasurer (Sec. 77-1802).
Interest Rate: 14% per annum. (Sec. 77-1824 and Sec. 45-104.01). Unless otherwise specifically provided, the interest rate assessed on delinquent payments of any taxes or special assessments owing to any political subdivision of the State of Nebraska shall be assessed at a rate of fourteen percent per annum. (Sec. 77-1824, Sec. 45-104.01).

Auction Type: Tax Lien Certificate (Sec. 77-1818).

Bidding Procedure: Bid down ownership interest (Sec. 77-1807). The person who offers to pay the amount of taxes due on any real property for the smallest portion of the same shall be the purchaser, and when such person designates the smallest portion of the real property for which he or she will pay the amount of taxes assessed against any such property, the portion thus designated shall be considered an undivided portion. (Sec. 77-1807).

Costs: The treasurer shall assess against each description the sum of $5.00 to defray the expenses of advertising, which sum shall be added to the total amount due on such real property and be collected in the same manner as taxes are collected. (Sec. 77-1804), a $10 fee for conveying the certificate or deed (Sec. 77-1823) and a fee of $1.00 shall be allowed for notice to apply for deed (Sec. 77-1833).

Redemption Period: Three (3) years. (Sec. 77-1837). At any time within six months after the expiration of three years from the date of sale of any real estate for taxes or special assessments, if such real estate has not been redeemed, the county treasurer, on request, on production of the certificate of purchase, and upon compliance with the provisions of sections 77-1801 to 77-1863, shall execute and deliver to the purchaser or his or her heirs or assigns a deed of conveyance for the real estate described in such certificate (Sec. 77-1837). The owner or occupant of any real property sold for taxes or any person having a lien thereupon or interest therein may redeem the same at any time before the delivery of tax deed by the county treasurer (Sec. 77-1824).

Exceptions to the above include the real property of minors, or any interest they may have in any real property sold for taxes, may be redeemed at any time during the time of redemption above described or at any time before such minor becomes of age and during two years thereafter. (Sec. 77-1826) The real property of persons with mental retardation or a mental disorder so sold, or any interest they may have in real property sold for taxes, may be redeemed at any time within five years after such sale. (Sec. 77-1827).
Alternatively the purchaser of a tax lien certificate may bring a foreclosure action within six months after the expiration of three years from the date of sale of any real estate for delinquent property taxes (Sec. 77-1902). Any person entitled to redeem real property may do so at any time after the decree of foreclosure and before the final confirmation of the sale by paying to the clerk of the district court the amount found due against the property (Sec. 77-1917).

Deed Assigned at Foreclosure to: Tax lien certificate holder. More specifically, At any time within six months after the expiration of three years from the date of sale of any real estate for taxes or special assessments, if such real estate has not been redeemed, the county treasurer, on request, on production of the certificate of purchase, and upon compliance with the provisions of sections 77-1801 to 77-1863, shall execute and deliver to the purchaser or his or her heirs or assigns a deed of conveyance for the real estate described in such certificate. (Sec. 77-1837).

Nebraska Contacts
number of Counties: 93

Adams County
500 West Fifth, Room 109
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Hastings, NE 68901-7509
Phone: (402) 461-7132
www.adamscounty.org

Buffalo County
P.O. Box 1270
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Kearney, NE 68848-1270
Phone: (308) 236-1224
www.buffalogov.org

Dodge County
435 North Park
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Fremont, NE 68025
Phone: (402) 727-2770
www.dodgecounty.ne.gov

Douglas County
1819 Farman Street
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: (402) 444-7025
www.co.douglas.ne.us/explorer.shtml

Hall County
121 South Pine Street
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Grand Island, NE 68801-6076
Phone: (308) 385-5083
www.hcgi.org

Lancaster County
555 South 10th Street, Room 110
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Lincoln, NE 68508-2803
Phone: (402) 441-7447
http://interlinc.ci.lincoln.ne.us/cnty/index.htm

Lincoln County
301 North Jeffers Street
Delinquent Property Tax Division
North Platte, NE 69101-3932
Phone: (308) 534-4350
www.co.lincoln.ne.us

Madison County
PO Box 290
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Madison, NE 68748-0290
Phone: (402) 454-3311
www.co.madison.ne.us

Platte County
2610 14th Street
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Columbus, NE 68601-4960
Phone: (402) 563-4904
www.plattecounty.net

Sarpy County
1210 Golden Gate Drive
Delinquent Property Tax Division
Papillion, NE 68046-3088
Phone: (402) 539-4155
www.sarpy.com